Three Colorado Counties Declared Disaster Areas

The U.S. Department of Agriculture has designated three Colorado counties as natural disaster areas because of losses caused by rain, hail, high winds, lightning, flooding and flash flooding that began June 3, 2010 and continues. The counties qualify because they are contiguous to nine counties in Nebraska which were also designated. The affected counties in Colorado are Weld, Logan and Sedgwick.

The counties listed above were designated natural disaster areas Aug. 12, 2010, making all qualified farm operators in the designated areas eligible for low interest emergency (EM) loans from FSA, provided eligibility requirements are met. Farmers in eligible counties have eight months from the date of the declaration to apply for loans to help cover part of their actual losses.

FSA will consider each loan application on its own merits, taking into account the extent of losses, security available and repayment ability. Contact your local FSA office for more information.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: