Sen. Inhofe Earns Farm Bureau ‘Golden Plow’ Award

WASHINGTON, D.C., February 17, 2010—The American Farm Bureau Federation has honored Sen. Jim Inhofe (R-Okla.) with its “Golden Plow” award, the highest recognition the organization bestows on members of Congress. Inhofe was presented the award for his support of America’s farmers and ranchers by AFBF President Bob Stallman and Oklahoma Farm Bureau President Mike Spradling. The award was presented Monday in Oklahoma City.

Oklahoma Farm Bureau’s nomination of Inhofe for the award cited numerous examples of his work on critical Farm Bureau issues, including his opposition to cap-and-trade climate change legislation. Inhofe even called attention to Farm Bureau’s “Don’t Cap Our Future” grassroots campaign against climate change legislation during a speech on the Senate floor.

“Sen. Inhofe is a problem solver who represents agriculture with dedication and passion,” Stallman said in presenting the award. “He is an outstanding legislator, an agricultural policy leader and a true friend of Farm Bureau.”

AFBF’s Golden Plow award recognizes members of Congress—regardless of party affiliation—for distinguished agricultural leadership and support of Farm Bureau policies. Recipients are chosen based on having a philosophy or record that demonstrates a commitment to: the private enterprise system; sound agricultural policies supported by Farm Bureau; fiscal conservatism; and reduced federal regulations on businesses and individuals.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: