Me and CFB


Nick Colglazier and I compete in the Final Four. Colglazier is an amazing speaker and a downright entertaining guy.

My dad, a lifelong businessman, has always said that ‘if you’re not at the table, you’re on the menu’. This was part of my opening statement in the Final Four round of the YF&R Discussion Meet and this moment, this entire weekend, marked the beginning of an amazing journey.

When I first attended a CFB meeting last year, I had no idea the opportunities that would be available to me. Since then, I’ve developed amazing friendships with a number of other members including a mentor-like relationship with Susan Leach. Leach is not only one of the state’s most active and exceptional District Representatives, she’s a mentor and a great pal.

When I signed up to compete in the Discussion Meet, I knew I would meet other young members and maybe even forge a friendship or two. I had no idea that I would meet Nick Colglazier, who is so dynamic that I step my game up ten steps around him. Nathan Weathers, from Yuma County, is brilliant and brave. The Discussion Meet winner, Deanna Bartee, a fellow teacher, is headed to Seattle and I’m (courtesy of the Women’s Committee essay contest and YF&R) lucky enough to go too! She’s also gracious enough to use me as a resource while preparing and competing at the AFBF Discussion Meet and I’m looking forward to being her “person”.

CFB is filled with amazing individuals and opportunities and I’m so glad to be a part.

One response to this post.

  1. Posted by Cherry Stogsdill on December 13, 2009 at 10:44 pm

    Lincoln County is proud of Rachel. Great job at the discussion meet. This post is very informative and interesting.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

