Early Season Snowstorm, A Mess Out East


The Wednesday evening snowstorm moved east and dropped heavy snow on Colorado’s Eastern Plains Thursday. More than a dozen school districts were either closed or delayed, and Interstate 70 was shut down from Airport road to Burlington because of treacherous conditions.

Many locations on the Plains reported 6-8 inches of snow with a few reports of nine inches or more.

Contributing to The Pulse, Lincoln County FB President, Charles Hoffman tells us first hand about the early season storm and give us a glimpse into his day running the Limon Leader and Eastern Colorado Plainsman newspapers.

Stuck!

stuckWednesday morning we woke to a good bit of snow sticking to the grass.  Wednesday is the day we deliver our newspapers, so no sleeping in for us on account of the snow.

I begin Wednesdays with a trip down Highway 24 to Simla to pick up the newspapers and return to Limon so we can prepare them for delivery.  The dirt roads from Home were muddy under 2” of wet heavy slushy snow, so I was relieved to make it to Paved Roads! The paved roads in and around Limon were wet but safe.  Highway 24 to Simla…completely different story!  There was an inch of pack topped with 3 – 4 inches of snow .  The blessing was that NOBODY was mistaking these roads for good, and everyone was keeping speeds to a minimum.

My Wednesdays consist of a 172 mile trip from Limon to Simla on Highway 24 and back, 40-287 to Hugo, State Road 109 to Genoa then I-70 to Arriba and then back to Limon.  The weather in Genoa was bad enough that when I got into Limon at around 3PM we decided to take the children out of school early and head home while it was still light and safe.

The weather was NOT nice to I-70 while I was in Limon.  We took both vehicles home from town, as I was sure that the roads were just wet as they had been all day. Boy was I wrong. The temperature had dropped and the snow had picked up enough to make it a nice wide sheet of ice.  We made it home, but we cannot say the same for the driver of the Land Rover that was between Jessica and I on the interstate.  He did 3 complete circles in the road before sliding into the ditch.

Once we made it home and filled the pellet stove, it was time to tend to the cows while we still could.  Evening chores went well and the cows were all doing fine tucked in behind the outbuildings.  The stock tank hadn’t frozen over and the calves are all big enough to really enjoy tromping through the drifts.

Thursday morning chores didn’t so as well.

School was cancelled for the kids, and the pickup had a nice 3 foot drift right up to the tailgate so I gave it a few hours for the sun to come up so I could see what we were up against.  Once I got the pickup out, I made the ½ mile trip up the drive way to the maintained county road.  I was happy to see that the county crews had been down that road and I decided to go check cows.

I did not fair the drift in the lane quite as well as the one in the driveway and got the pickup stuck.  I walked to the hydrabed and tried to use it to get the pickup out.  FAIL!

Not being one to be defeated by a bit of snow, I decided to use the 4 wheeler to check cows.  It started right up, but swiftly got stuck right beside the pickup.

I guess from now on I’ll walk out and check the cows the old fashioned way!

One response to this post.

  1. Posted by Jayde on October 25, 2009 at 5:25 am

    This could be agood indication to what we may be in for this winter!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

