Animal Well-being Commission Formed

Leaders from academia and the beef industry are announcing the formation of an independent advisory group to focus on beef cattle health and well-being. The North American Food Animal Well-being Commission for Beef (NAFAWC-Beef)—which includes world-renowned experts in animal well-being—will advocate for increased research funding for animal well-being, facilitate the communication of research results in a more timely manner, advance best management practices in cattle health and welfare, and serve as an unbiased, science- and production- based group to address concerns about animal well-being.

NAFAWC-Beef will help direct research efforts, field studies and assessment tools for the North American beef industry in relation to beef cattle well-being in order to provide science-based recommendations for cattle management practices.

The commission’s public outreach efforts will focus on a number of groups across all levels of the beef chain, including: farming and ranching organizations, consumer groups, beef harvesting companies, veterinary groups, food retail and restaurant groups, and animal welfare groups.

The 21 inaugural members were selected for their expertise in animal care and handling. Members are as follows:

  • Dr. Barry Dunn – Texas A & M University
  • Dr. Bob Smith – Oklahoma State University
  • Dr. Carolyn Stull – University of California at Davis
  • Dr. Dan Thomson – Kansas State University
  • Dr. Dave Sjeklocha – Academy of Veterinary Consultants, Chair of Beef Cattle Health and Well-Being
  • Dr. Dee Griffin – University of Nebraska
  • Dr. Frank Mitloehner – University of California at Davis
  • Dr. Gatz Riddell – AABP, Executive Director
  • Dr. Guy Loneragan – West Texas A&M University
  • Dr. Hans Coetzee – Kansas State University
  • Dr. Jan Shearer – Iowa State University
  • Dr. Janice Swanson – Michigan State University
  • Marie Belew Wheatly – American Humane Association
  • Dr. Ron Gill – Texas A&M University
  • Dr. Temple Grandin – Colorado State University
  • Dr. Tom Noffsinger – Beef Cattle Handling Expert – Benkelman, NE
  • Dr. Joseph Stookey – University of Saskatchewan, Western Veterinary College
  • Dr. Jeff Rushen – Agriculture and Agri-Food Canada
  • Susan Church – Alberta Farm Animal Council
  • Dr. Karen Schwartzkopfh-Gesnswein – Agriculture and Agri-Food Canada
  • Jennifer Woods – Livestock Handling Expert – Blackie, AB Canada

Ad hoc members of the commission include: Dr. Elizabeth Parker, National Cattlemen’s Beef Association (U.S.); Dr. Jim Sartwelle, American Farm Bureau Federation (U.S.); Dr. Tom Field, National Cattlemen’s Beef Association (U.S.); Ryder Lee, Canadian Cattlemen’s Association (Canada); Bryan Walton, National Cattle Feeders Association (Canada); Dr. Mike Siemens, Cargill Animal Protein; and Dr Juan Ramon Gonzalez, Confederación Nacional De Organizaciones Ganaderas (Mexico).

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: