The Pulse Welcomes New Contributor


It is probably fair to say that Colorado Farm Bureau is darned important to me.  I met my husband through the Extension Office in Lincoln County and our first date was the Colorado Farm Bureau annual meeting. Really. We were married months later and the Lincoln County Farm Bureau Board members made me feel right at home.spencer

My husband, Jason Vermillion, is a fifth generation farmer and is a Lincoln County Farm Bureau Board Member, Young Farmer and Rancher Rep. and Scholarship Committee Chair. We live near Hall Station, just south of the family farm. We are building a show pig business in addition to raising cattle, hay, crops and the occasional derby car.

I grew up south of Castle Rock and my mom kept me busy with 4-H projects ranging from livestock judging to market lambs in an attempt to keep me busy. I went on to graduate from Fort Hays State University with a degree in Animal Science where I developed farrowing skills I seem to put to good use frequently. I currently teach at Genoa Hugo High School where our son, Caden, is going to be a third grader in the fall.

I will be contributing stories to The Pulse when I can and you may also see my writing in Colorado Way of Life. I’m looking forward to writing about life way out here and about the stories we all share and the people we all know. We’re certainly in good company.

Leave a Reply

